Matting extensions

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frankosmythe

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I’ve been fitting extensions for over 2 years (trained and insured) but also started at hairdressing College now too.
I’ve never ever come across any of my customers with matting!
I generally do a check of them at 2 weeks (free) so I can see they’re managing them ok and to offer advice if I see any signs they’re not. So far I’ve been lucky! Until today...
I had two fittings.
One of them I visited today.. I had to remove 30 tiny tips as they’d started matting already! Her hair was greasy and I told her she hadn’t been keeping them separated and even wondered if she has ever brushed them? She said she followed all aftercare instructions???! Has anyone else encountered this?..

Then.. another customer after only one week rang to say 20 of hers had fallen out already and had ‘slipped out’
I checked her hair and they were all in the same area at the bottom row but had pulled clumps of her own hair out with them? Is it coincidence these both had tiny tips fitted or have I done something wrong that I’m not seeing?!!
Totally lost my confidence now..