Nail Repair Help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brunette87

Reaction score
Hi There! I have been wearing false nails for 2 years without a break. Almost over night a month ago my nails look really bad. The top layer of my nail is there but weak, and there seems to be no nail underneath that - giving a whiter look. When i look at my nail straight on, i can see halfway down under my nail, and 'pieces' of nail.

Is there anything someone could recommend that i can put on my nail to protect them, but also continue wearing my false nails.

Something i could consider doing is putting tips on and just having colour on my nails all the time if i knew how long this would take to repair.

Thanks! :)

Are you a trained nail technician, your profile doesn't give any details.

Hi, no im not trained or training to be a nail technician!

Sounds like Onycholysis to me seperation between nail plate and bed. As you are not a trained professional I advise you have your nails removed professionally or shortened. If you continue to wear enhancements the condition can get worse. Keep your nails short and your hands clean.

I had a look on google images for Onycholysis and my nails look similar to some of these so i think it may be that. Thank you :)

I had a look on google images for Onycholysis and my nails look similar to some of these so i think it may be that. Thank you :)

I'm sure it is that and if so, it is caused by over thinning of the nail plate.

What can thin the nail plate?? Bad use of a drill for filing the surface ... over filing the surface with an ordinary file. Improper removal such as prising the nail coating off with a tool or your teeth.

If you have been going to a discount salon for 2 years and they have been doing these things then chances are they have made your nails weak and thin. Only you know the answer to this.