Nervous newbie seeks advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sledge

Reaction score
Hi there everyone. Having spent hours/weeks lurking about on this site reading very interesting and great advice, I've finally plucked up the courage to register. I'm very new to the world of forums and industry so please be gentle.
I have a couple of questions please...
1. Electric files/drills or manual filing?
I did my nail course a couple of months ago with a private beauty academy. During my course, I was told that I could use an electric file if I wanted to provided I had training. I would like to know how many of you professionals use an electric file/drill or is it considered a real 'no no', because I have seen on some website of techs advertising themselves as using no drills - is this a selling point? Also, if you use an e-file, how much time do you gain over manual filing?

2. Suppliers
I have seen there are a lot of suppliers online and wondered which one is prefered by you pros. Do you only buy/order from UK suppliers or do you source overseas suppliers?
I have been buying my stuff from Sallys to pratice because they're local to me but have not found them to be amazing.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Sorry if I've waffled on to much.

hi there, cant say im a fan of electric files untill you have a few years experiance, ive been doing nails over 12 years and have training in them but still choose not to use them, plus if you apply your product well enough then filing should be nice and short.
i have personally worked with alot of different products over the years, my favs are, entity, odyssey and ezflow.
hope you get a few more reply's
dont hesitate to pm me!
gem xx

I have not been in the industry long but I agree with gemma, I am not a fan of electric files but there are some that love them. If you apply the product well then there is minmal filing require.