Ombré help-new client colour correction

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justkaz

Reaction score
Really need some advise please.

Have a new client coming in on Saturday. She has red all over and wants an ombré colour of a chocolate brown going to a blonde. I will attach some pics of her hair now and what she would like. I have not seen this client in person only through the picture.

Now I have had very little experience with ombré. So am sooo nervous. I have done just a couple of ombres where I have only bleached and toned the mid lengths and ends. They turned out great.

Have also stretched my daughters roots down with a Demi and didn't touch her ends. They also turned out great. But I haven't combined the roots and ends in one sitting.

I have searched you tube and found a couple of tutorials but they smudged the colours down towards the mid lengths but was on virgin hair and it didn't go all the way to the bleach.

Now with this colour been a colour correction I have to colour all the hair. I was talking to my supplier and she said she just smudges the bleach to where the tint/demi will go to.
Because I haven't done this I am worried the bleach sitting on the tint will make a gold brassy mess. She said it doesn't but am feeling skeptical.

Now because it is red I was thinking to give it a cleanse with a bleach bath first to strip out some of the red. Not sure of the condition of the hair so will probably recommend it to be more of a caramel colour on the ends incase the ends won't lift enough. So am using affinage and was thinking 5.01 on roots and depending how much I can lift the ends maybe 7.01 or 8.01 with 6.01 on mid lengths. Or should I forget the 6.01 and just smudge the two colours on mid lengths to create a 6.01.

Or should I do the dark colour first. Wash, dry and then do the ombré then tone?