Opened up my first salon in the credit crunch.....AM I MAD???

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sharlz

Reaction score
Hi people... i'm fairly new to this site, but i've got something to get off my chest........here goes
Well i've been in the beauty industry for 8 years now and i love it! I've worked in salons and department stores and gained loads of experience inc being a salon manager which i've enjoyed, but what ive always wanted is to have my own salon. Well i went on a business course n did loads of research n then i took the plunge.......yes i finally did it! I love it but its bloody hard work! I had my reservations before i started (coz of the credit crunch) but i told myself that im a good therapist, i mean im not niave, im in a great location, reasonable rent/ rates and have a popular hair salon next door, its just that business just seems sooooo slow, some days i might only have 2 customers just for brows.

I don't no wether its just me being impatient? i opened on 31st july, i mean dont get me wrong i'm breaking even/ covering all costs, and i suppose thats ok. i cant afford to take a wage yet tho. I no it will take some time but sometimes i cant help thinking that i should have waited a year or so or perhaps put the money into getting a new car and doing mobile??? but my research did indicate that people in my area prefer to go to salons, rather than someone go to them. Wot do u guys think???
Am i being daft or do you think i've rushed in too soon.

I've done some flyers so i suppose its just a waiting game??

Please give me your honest opinion, oh sorry for writing an essay. x

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE X

Well I think that if you can be breaking even after only a few weeks then good on you - you must be doing something right :).