Please help - at my wits end!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crystaltash

Reaction score
Hey everyone.
So my wee salon has been open nearly 4 months now. Christmas was great, Jan was fine but this month has been grim! I'm sitting here today with not a soul in. It's costing me more to open!
So far, I have about 90 clients on my books. I'm doing all I can regarding advertising - I dropped leaflets round the local shops, i have a website, big posters in the window, a refer-a-friend scheme, send monthly newsletters out to clients, carry business cards everywhere I go. It's like squeezing blood from a stone. :cry:
There are about 3 other salons in the town and I'm wondering whether the competition is too much? I'm a good therapist with a lot of training behind me and I don't want this to be a failure. I just don't know what else to do geeks.
Does this sort of thing take time? Please, geeks, any words of support or advice would be greatly appreciated at this time. I'm just so stressed and worried.
Thank you. :hug:

It can take a long time to build up a regular client base, depending upon population & so forth. It took me quite a few years to get really busy as I work in a small town. The lady in the shop next to me (a dog groomers) is also worrying at the moment, which I think is natural for a new business owner, it's always a shock when the hordes you'd hoped for don't suddenly turn up, but reputation takes time to build, longer than 4 months anyway, so keep upbeat!