Pregnant with really bad skin

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

princesslilyxx

Reaction score
Hey geeks!

Wondered if anyone can help me? I am suffering from really bad excema the past 2 weeks. My excema has gone awol. From 20 weeks of being pregnant my skin has got so bad, and I can't sleep at night. Its getting me so down, and I am excited about the baby but just my excema is getting me so down.

My belly has got so worse its really itchy and red. My docs say there is nothing they can do really, but have given me some creams to help it! Has anyone got any suggestions?

Thanks xx

Hey i'm not an expert on eczema but have you tried dabbing on calamine lotion that has been cooled in the fridge where it is itchy, this will just soothe and take the redness down and is safe during pregnancy. Are you eating a lot of acidic foods e.g oranges (including juice) and tomatoes e.t.c as these have been known to make eczema worse. It is more than likely due to your pregnancy but have you changes your washing powder lately as this can make it worse. Have you been wearing maternity tights that have rubber or something you are allergic to? try wearing only cotton and leave the tights off if you are. :hug:

hi hun,
i get psoriasis which is similar to eczema, i used the cocoa butter stick from the body shop (they don't always have it on display so you may need to ask) its also great for helping to prevent stretch marks.
i found it really soothing so it may help you a a little
xx

Thanks for your replies so far. I will try the body shop and calomine lotion and see what happens. It sjust so itchy and makes it unbearable, I suffer from excema normally anyway but its just recently where it has got so bad.

I am going to have a bath and soak my skin and see if that helps x x