Prices & petrol if mobile??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zemma

Reaction score
Hello

In need of abit of advice im a mobile nail tech just starting out and trying to sort my prices out how do you mobile techs work your petrol?

do you add it in to your prices so your bit dearer or do you have it as a seperate charge and say to clients you charge x amount for petrol as your mobile?

any help would be great

thanks
zem

Hi Zem

I've seen this question asked before and I'm afraid I can't see the reasoning behind it? Your petrol and other motoring costs are just another expense, like insurance, products and consumables and have to be taken out from your profit (the amount you charge for your service). You can't change for a service and then add on the costs of your expenses.

It's a bit like me trying to charge my clients a percentage of my rent when they visit my salon:)

HTH
jes

Hi Jes
Thanks for the reply just trying to find out what other people do as some have said charge extra and some say build in to the cost of the service so trying to get opinions on others do, i would of thought i had to build it round my prices i give out and not have an EXTRA charge so thanks xx

Hi Zem

I've seen this question asked before and I'm afraid I can't see the reasoning behind it? Your petrol and other motoring costs are just another expense, like insurance, products and consumables and have to be taken out from your profit (the amount you charge for your service). You can't change for a service and then add on the costs of your expenses.

It's a bit like me trying to charge my clients a percentage of my rent when they visit my salon:)

HTH
jes

I guess that depends how you look at it....I dont look at it as expenses...I see it as an additional service but I guess that also depends on whether you predominantly work from home, salon or mobile.