Pro products vs OTC Explain Please?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lady_Nightshade

Reaction score
Im not a pro at all, and Ive been around these forums long enough to know that otc products are not liked. But can someone please explain to me the difference between Professional brands and what the public buy in shops.

For example why is Dermotological (Im using this as its the only pro brand i remember the name of) better than Avene from Boots?
Or why is Clarol better than Aussie Miracle?
That kinda thing.

Im just an uneducated girl who really doesnt know how come one is better than the other so if someone would spare me the time just to explain I would be most grateful and more educated.

I did try a search, but couldnt find this info.

Please bear in mind Im a Customer so telling me how its good for your salons wont really help me, dont mean to offend but its true.
:hug:

Last edited:
Proffessinal brands are usually purer with more active ingredients in them. That means that a therapist needs to be taught exactly what to prescribe a client to get the correct result.
With hair colours its more complex but there is a huge difference in box colours from the chemist and the colour ranges that hairdressers use. The training hairdressers have to do regarding colour is long and thorough as it is a complicated subject.

Please dont shoot me down in flames Im just trying to understand. :green:

If Dermatolica (sp) starts selling in Boots I can understand it will hit salons pockets... but will it make it a lesser product than before?