Removing Gel Tackiness

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GRL4YOU

Reaction score
Hello ladies,

I am new to the SalonGeek and looking forward to chatting and learning from all of you beauty guru's!

I am currently training to become a certified Nail Technician in gel and acrylic. However, I have a quick question -

I have ran out of finishing wipe to remove the tacky off of the gel nail after it cures. I read online that this can be substituted with 99% Isopropyl alcohol (rubbing alcohol). I ran out to a store today and purchased a large bottle.. However, after using it to remove the tacky (which it did), it left the nail feeling kind of grippy like rubber... feels as if it has not been fully cured.

Can someone advise? Is it true that 99% Isopropyl alcohol can be substituted? If not, is there anything else available rather than paying the cost for such a small bottle of gel wipe?

Thanks ladies :)

- Tee

Welcome to salon geek where we try to guide you along the professional path to success. So I have a question for you?

Why would you, already at this early stage of your future career, be wanting to substitute other products and chemicals for the ones recommended for the brand you use and by the brand you use, to remove the inhibition layer from your product. It makes no intelligent sense at all to do that, especially as you know nothing or very little about the chemistry behind your product or how it works. Already you have found out that scrimping a few pennies on cost can in fact be very dear.

Quality product Companies formulate products to AID you and to work successfully and synergistically within your system. My advice is to use the recommended products for your system.