Self employed - how much to pay yourself

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hippy-chick

Reaction score
For all you s/e therapists, how much do you pay yourself a week/month?

Do you pay a set amount every week regardless of how much/little you work

or

Do you pay yourself a percentage of your takings?

At the moment nothing , lol all goes back into the business , maybe one day.

At the moment nothing , lol all goes back into the business , maybe one day.
I've been paying myself a set wage every week, but am ready for a pay rise.
don't know which way to go with it at the moment.

Our accountants recommended that I pay myself (as a director) £6000 p/a. I think this is the minimum amount that I can earn and pay NI. It's not a lot for 40+ hours a week but I love having my own salon. All the girls in the salon earn more than me!

When I was a sole trader I still payed myself a wage, just below the tax threshold, again I was happy to do this and build up money for training etc.

I'm fortunate that Mike is able to support me (by paying for just about everything:)) and our home and helps in building up the business. I couldn't survive on the £6000 wage on my own!

Our accountants recommended that I pay myself (as a director) £6000 p/a. I think this is the minimum amount that I can earn and pay NI. It's not a lot for 40+ hours a week but I love having my own salon. All the girls in the salon earn more than me!

When I was a sole trader I still payed myself a wage, just below the tax threshold, again I was happy to do this and build up money for training etc.

I'm fortunate that Mike is able to support me (by paying for just about everything:)) and our home and helps in building up the business. I couldn't survive on the £6000 wage on my own!
Thanks for that Vanessa. How much is £6k a week/month (not good at maths)?