Seriously need your expertise / advice / help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Miss_Biscuit

Reaction score
Sorry this is a bit long.

I have been doing my own acrylic extensions for over 3 years now and recently took and passed the Creative 4 Day foundation.

Since then I have only done 4 sets (I work full time.) the first was on my model and she had then taken off the next day as she wasn't allowed them on for work reasons. The 2nd person wanted them off after a day as she said that when she touched things with them on they made her cringe! (Yes really! EVERYTHING makes her cringe, the feel of newspapers, velvet, porcelain to name a few!! But I digress!) so they were soaked off after two days, then I did another friend and my Mum a set each, a day apart from each other.

Now, I expected my Mum to lose a couple as she is a serious nail biter.. But so far in 3 weeks she has only lost one and that was from her shortest, shortest nail. And they don't even look like they need infilling yet either (Her nails grow v. slowly.) But my other friend has had a 'mare with hers.

5 days after I did her set she said that she had lost one, the rest looked like they "were growing fast" and a couple were lifting, she asked if I could do a repair and a manicure for her in a couple of days.. when she turned up she had lost a further two enhancements (All there were on the same hand, her non-dominant hand.) and the rest looked bloody awful! When she said that it looked like they had grown fast, I think she meant that because the acrylic nearest to the cuticle was showing an obvious gap, like it was a 3 week infill due or something..