Shellac, how much cuticle should be exposed?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Debs001

Reaction score
Hi Ive just had my shellac done and it seems to me she left quite a bit of cuticle exposed, ive attahced a pic, is this correct or a bit too much? Sorry pic is a bit blurry :(

Attachments

• shellac.JPG
    shellac.JPG
    102.8 KB · Views: 362
  • shellacnails.JPG
    shellacnails.JPG
    112 KB · Views: 390
How long was the shellac on when you took the photo?
did you tell the tech when you noticed the free magin was so wide?

LOL, i had it done TODAY! ive never had it done before and just thought she knew what she was doing? Didnt complain as I didnt know if I had the right to :( So, If its NOT supposed to be like that, I will go back up and ask they redo it.

I have no experience with this system but personally, even with normal polish or gels I hate a big gap and all my old clients felt the same. It just always looks like it hasn't been finished. I know you're not supposed to go right up to the cuticle but I always go as near as I possibly can as I think it "looks" so much better

Hi Ive just had my shellac done and it seems to me she left quite a bit of cuticle exposed, ive attahced a pic, is this correct or a bit too much? Sorry pic is a bit blurry :(

Hope my pic works, i did this shellac myself last night its Fedora with Tutti Frutti over to create a purple, as you can see this is how close it is to my cuticle, but you have to be careful not to get it on skin/cuticle as this can cause the shellac to lift an then it could chip or peel.

Attachments

• IMG_0565.jpg
    IMG_0565.jpg
    142.4 KB · Views: 327
Hmmm, just a bit gutted now as obviously they wont last long as they already look as if they have a weeks growth :( With your pic, you have done them to a sort of point too, whereas these are painted straight across :(