Shellac problem with new client

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

siana

Reaction score
I've been Shellac-ing for three years and I've just had my first lady saying they've chipped and lifted after 2 days and and that she's going to have to soak them off herself as she is away for the weekend. This is a first for me! I always make a point of checking my bulbs etc before each treatment so I know it's not my equipment. My other ladies from the same day are fine. Did a full consultation, her nails were in good condition, no splitting or peeling, and she hasn't any underlying medical probs (that she declared in her consultation).

I've told her that Shellac is probably not suitable for her nails if this has happened and she probably needs something tougher. But would you refund if you knew it wasn't a fault with your equipment or application? I haven't offered a refund, and don't want to, as I am confident in what I'm delivering to my clients, but I wonder if I'm being a bit harsh? She's coming back on Wednesday for a patch test for tint and I have a feeling she's going to try for a full refund. What would you do?

Can I ask if you have seen the nails? Has she sent you a photo or anything? If she is unable to come to you to show you if she is away then I would ask for a photo.

How long after the 2 days did she contact you about the nails?

If this is the first ever time this has happened to you then I wouldn't have thought it was anything you had done but what is your prep?

In my opinion a refund is out of the question, especially if she is going to remove them before coming to see you.

I would offer to fix the nails that have chipped but if she is unable to come because she is away and is going to remove them anyway then I'm not sure what to suggest.