Shellac questions

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SColborn

Reaction score
I have been using the CND Shellac for a month now and really like it. I have 28 years experience doing natural nails only and esthetics.

I have found that now matter how hard I try I can't shellac a client in the 30 mins like the company says it takes. I have found 45 mins on nails with good cuticles and 1 hour or more on clients with rough cuticles. Even with a good cuticle remover without being able to soak the nails or toes before hand I can't clean up the cuticle as well as I'd like and get the last bits off the nails where it adheres sometimes. Which might affect the smoothness of the polish application. And I am known for how well I clean up bad cuticles. I send them home with solar oil but some still have problems or don't use it enough.

Also since the product is a bit thicker and I want to do a good job it takes a while to paint it on as I do not want to miss any part of the nail and have it wipe off after the final cure with the shellac lamp.

So while I love the product and will keep using it I find I could probably make more money for my time doing regular manicures or other esthetic services. So I am just pretending to myself that I am making more money with it so I can justify how much I am spending on stocking up on it. I figure as time goes by I will have all this sorted out so I will make as much money for my time with it as my other esthetic services I offer do.

So to make a long story short what do others do with cuticles and nails from hell clients when you can't soak them first? Some of these are my good friends so I want to keep them happy. Also how look does it take others to do clients in these situations?

S.