Should I refund even though client said not to?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tickety.boo

Reaction score
Hi all. I am new here so please be kind! And apologies in advance for such a long post.
I am after a bit of advice. I have been a mobile beauty therapist for 3 years and have recently received a complaint about a set of Shellac nails I applied. I was doing this in addition to some other treatments on this particular lady and it took her over an hour to decide what she wanted done. Most of the time spent deciding was while I was doing her other work but she did also eat into some of the treatment time meaning I had to inform her that I would have to leave soon.

I made sure I had enough time to do the application however I did have to speed up the nail art. When she left both her and I were happy with the nails however I received a phone call a couple of days later saying she wasn't happy with them as I rushed them.

At the time she caught me off guard and I hastily offered her a redo but later on I reconsidered and rang her back offering her a refund instead as I was in the process of changing my hours so couldn't guarantee I'd be able to honour the arrangement.
She said she didn't want a refund and only called me about the nails because she "thought I'd want to know that as I rushed them they weren't very good".