Straightening a perm?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tranquility UK

Reaction score
Hi hair geeks.. im a beauty therapist (currently in my last year at college) and one of the hair dressers needs me to go in and have a perm for an assessment, she comes in for my assessments so its only fair if i go in for hers... so what would happen if she permed my hair but one day i want to straighten it? will it reverse the perm or will it go back curly after i wash it??

if you wash it that night it should drop out ..try making sure you blow it straight tho , it will probably have some wave to it tho when wet .. i have seen people not wait the three days and it always usally drops .. but the hair is usually left a bit wavy x

Good advice Dee. Wash it ASAP, leave thick conditioner on and comb it as flat as possible, blow dry it as straight as possible. There's still no guarantee though! You're a good mate, that's for sure! :p:p
Nick

depends how well she perms it, and it also depends on an awful lot of other 'ifs' a permanent wave is exactly that - it breaks the bonds in the hair and neutralizing re-sets them in the curled position. You have to prepare yourself for it not to drop out. you can have it chemically straightened ( if you can find someone to do it) but that will seriously damage your hair, or I guess a brazilian blow dry?
Its a very big ask by your friend if its not something you were considering anyway, it basically has to grow out. Think hard before having it done.:Scared:

Thanks for all the advice but i dont mind having it done and having the wavy hair its just what will happen if i straighten it for one day, will it go back wavy or will i have wasted her hard work?