Success stories... Tell yours...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Glam Nails

Reaction score
Hi guys,

We all want to hear your story. How you started your biz, the ups and downs you faced. The struggles and most of all the success you achieved.

All is welcome to write.

XXX

Everyones gone shy........

Too scared to post my story in case it turns into a disaster story with the new salon :eek:

Come on Ange, someone gotta go first!! you won't jinx yourself.
I'm not telling mine as I'l just get arsey PM's again!

go on persianista !

Mines a long story! I worked my way up in West end salons till I was a manager then got headhunted to a salon in a very affluent area. Managed that for 6 years. Then the owner got a new girlfriend who felt I had too much influence, and although she wasn't in the industry persuaded him to boot me out. A very awful and shocking thing for me, as I had always been successful and committed. I took a dreadful job just to keep the money coming in as Allan and I had just bought a house together. The salon owner was a nutter and I only lasted 3 months. I went mobile to look after my clientelle and found a salon for sale. Allan, to his credit agreed to put the house up as security and we bought it. It was owned by 2 sisters who had lost interest, so there was huge scope for improvement. We opened 7 days a week and started slowly doing it up. Then it BOOMED.
We had more clients than we knew what to do with. We packed them into every inch of the salon. Then the two floors above was going to be put up for sale, so I bought them. Once the tenants had gone, we joined them up with the salon below. It gave us another salon, sunbed room, and 4 beauty rooms.
That all did well and we had some money saved up again, so we bought another salon.
and so it went on.
No lucky breaks or Earth shattering revelations, just long hours, hard work and risk.