Wearing gloves for facial?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

C the Results

Reaction score
I went for a facial today as I like to try out different salons, I had not been to this salon before and I never tell them I am a therapist for many reasons. I was very surprised that she wore gloves for the whole treatment and was wondering if this was a new requirement, I personally was not keen on it but unfortunately the whole treatment was a bit of a let down as she left me twice for ten minutes each time and seemed to be in a great hurry to get out of the room, when she was in the room she was trying to get me to buy products! So glad I didn't pay the full £50 for it!!

I read this on another thread recently and I think that each therapist should do what suits them but I do find this very strange and have never ever heard of it previously.

I can think of no reason as to why a therapist would want to or need to wear gloves for a facial.

I always wear gloves for manis and pedis right up to the point of massage and paint .. this is purely for the protection of my own hands and nails.

I can't think what the reason would be for facials though so am going to wait with interest and see what other therapists offer.

Jacqui xx

I was trained to use gloves for facials only in cases of severe, and I mean severe acne.

Nothing beats the full body massage I had with gloves on though...........hello!

Maybe the therapist has dermatitis or something herself and is protecting her client by not touching them.

Maybe the therapist has dermatitis or something herself and is protecting her client by not touching them.

That's what I was thinking also.