What would you do?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mobileharmonyxx

Reaction score
I had a call from a local hotel, wanting a massage for their guest, who had a severe back problems.

I suggested that I am a massage therapist, and with a problem such as that I suggested she saw a chiropractioner or physiotherapist.

They left it like that until today when I received another phone call from a rude man, and was adamant that he wanted his guest to have a massage. I explained my case, and was passed onto a receptionist who said that they have contacted all the salons who also said they were unwilling to do the treatment.

They said that she has been to the doctors and was given the all clear.

I said I would do the treatment, but my instincts were screaming at me, not to do it. I contacted my insurance company who said that unless there was a letter from the doctor, to say that all clear has been given, then I should not do the treatment.

I phoned back and got the rude man back on the phone, I said that I had been speaking to my insurance company regarding the treatment, and explained that unless there was a formal letter from the doctor, I could not do the treatment.

The man started getting very irrate and would not take no for a answer that I put the phone down.

Yes, I know its unprofessional but could not phone back, I felt myself getting stressed, not good when you are pregnant.

I now feel that this will have a knock on effect to my business, that is just starting up.

What would you do, if you were me. Sorry for the long winded story!! :confused::confused:

Last edited:
Don't stress about it - you did the right thing! If her back was giving her that much pain, you could have caused damage and then got sued!

Don't stress about it - you did the right thing! If her back was giving her that much pain, you could have caused damage and then got sued!