Whats the difference between using Bio sculpture gel and Shellac?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happysez

Reaction score
Hi all nail techs.

I don't know much about gel nails as I only do natural nails so this is why I want to find out about Shellac. So many people are talking about it.
I don't really like doing enhancments (my friend does bio sculputer and let me do one on her but it wasnt for me) but if i'm using a gel like a varnish then that would be right up my street.

My friend who uses Bio said she doesn't know anything about Shellac and she can't see why it would be any different to using Bio as a coloured Gel like she does, she says it lasts 3 weeks.

Could anyone educate me on this please.

Many thanks in advance.:D

Hi, I'm a newbie!:) Just staring out in the nail industry. What training should I take? I've read numerous reviews on bio sculpture, OPI and now Shellac not sure which route to take..... I prefer the gel bio sculpture after personal experience, I am unsure if OPI are going to do a 'Boots/Superdrug' special so would hate to invest if their road map is not exclusive and had never heard of Shellac until I read your rav reviews. I just can't decided what way to go.... Would love to hear your feedback pleasseeeee!:) Thanks.

OK. I am trained in Calgel which is similar to Bio, and I also use Shellac. It's very different. With Shellac you don't need to, ahem, exfoliate the the nail plate bedfore applying the product. Shellac goes on much thinner, i.e. looks like polish, whereas gel can look bulky. Shellac is shiny, doesn't need a shiny top coat over the top. Shellac is smooth, doesn't have the rubbery feel that soak off gels can have. Shellac is very inexpensive to buy and doesn't need any extra training if you are trained in manicure. Shellac soaks off really quickly. Hth's!

Have you had any training yet?