Which base colour/pre pigment for blonde extensions to go chocolate brown NO RED?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MsHson

Reaction score
Hi there

Okay so I have a question about base coating/ pre pigmenting my new extensions and my own hair to be the same colour. I'm VERY skint at the min and cannot afford a salon so will be using home box dyes from Tesco/Superdrug/Boots.

I'll start with the clip in extensions. These are 22" neutral in colour for home colouring (DIY dye). They are a blonde colour and I have been advised from the company I bought them from that they need pre pigmenting BEFORE I go to the dark colour I am after.

Now my own hair. I have been dying my naturally medium brown hair black for a few years now. It was quite dull and lacked shine so I decided that before re-dying and adding to the build up of colours I would strip it. I did this 3 days ago and my hair is now a dark brown with a coppery shine to it (not a bad colour at all but not what I'm going for)

The colour I want to be is a very dark chocolate brown, like Kyle Richards from Real Housewives of Beverly Hills :) BUT I REALLY DON'T WANT the hair to shine red when in sunlight. I know everyone says you must go bright red as a base colour especially on blonde but I'm dreading it coming through the chocolate brown.

I want it to shine but dark brown shimmering NOT red. Can I put a different base colour on? Like a dark purple/plum from the XXL home colourants maybe? Or would a bright or dark orange/copper blonde do the trick?

Could you give me examples of colours I could use please?

Any advise is more than welcome.

Thanks very much xxx

I am sorry but no professional Hairdresser is ever going to recommend a box colour from a supermarket.

You need to go to a professional hairdresser for a proper consultation, there is really no other advice to give here.

Hi thanks for the reply.