Any Kiwi nail techs out there who can advise me?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heidi Herkez

Reaction score
Hi there!

My partner and i are emmigrating to Auckland, New Zealand ina few years. I am a make-up artist looking to do a course in nails-what is the best recognised brand out there? Ez flow or Creative? Is acrylic more popular than gel? My partner and i are moving towards opening a spa one day together so would i be better of doing bio sculpture?

Thank you and hope to hear from someone soon

A very confused but optimistic
Heidi

Heidi,

Not been on the site for a while so only just spotted your question.

Although I am in Australia I fear you may find the same thing I have - Creative products are VERY expensive out here, not cheap in the UK (hey, you get what you pay for) but with the additional shipping costs for Aus and exchange rate allowances it's still costs much more here than it did in the UK - and the cost of nail services in AUS dollars is the same as you would pay in pounds - so when you consider current exchange rate is $1 to about £2.50, and the product is more expensive then the profit margins are seriously reduced........

Anyway, not sure about NZ but Creative stuff IS shipped here. Not seen EZ Flow at all, ANYWHERE. I know of salons using Young Nails so that is obviously available here but I don't know at what cost, I've also seen Bio Sculpture window stickers but probably only 2 in the 8 months I've been here. In the distibutors I use there are other brands for nail enhancement products but I couldn't tell you the name, similar type thing to Salon System though from the packing. Brands of Acetone etc. I have gotten here are Nail Beauty and Nail Mischief, but haven't looked to see if they do L&P or Gel as I stick to my Creative stuff despite the cost.