Apprentice Wages ?!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gregsaunders

Reaction score
Hello all,

as you may or may not know i am not enjoying my apprenticeship at my salon and to add another blow i got my first paycheck this week,

as an apprentice i should be paid a minimum of £80 per week, i work 45 hours per week, 40 hours after my supposed 1hr a day lunch break, that works out at £2 per hour (fair enough, i knew what i was letting myself in for) but my boss had docked my wages for the time i spent at college !, he docked my day when i went to wales to scatter my grandpas ashes, no problem, but for the past 3 weeks i have had to leave one hour early on a tuesday to attend my college theory lesson and he has docked this from my wage, this doesn't seem fair, i thought the point of an apprenticeship was for me to be learning, and attending college, i missed the last 3 fridays at college too because he wouldn't let me have them off from the salon ?!, his exact words were "call in sick" does anyone else this this is unfair or is it common practise,

Thanks
Greg x