Catalysts and Initiators

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lois Kellyy

Reaction score
I am currently studying Level 3 Nails, and have been set an assigment. Polymerisation is the subject, and I have to explain the process. I have done most of the asignemt but I am stuck on how to explain what initiators and catalysts are.

Can some one help me asap please

I used to teach level 3 nails and the book I used with my students was Marion Newman's TheComplete Nail Technician and all the info you could ever need is in that book :)

A catalyst is something that starts a process going and increases the rate of a chemical reaction , in this case, the process of polymerization. A catalyst does not enter the chemical reaction itself; Consider it an outside force.

A chemical initiator is the substance that the catalyst affects which initiates a chain reaction, in this case, the polymerization of nail products.

So .. in the case of Liquid & powder systems ... what is the catalyst? The warmth of the finger. What is the chemical initiator it energizes and which starts the chain reaction? (you tell us and I'll tell you f you are right)

In the case of gels ... What is the catalyst? The UV light. What is the initiator? (you tell us and I'll tell you if you are right.)

In the case of Wrap systems. What is the catalyst? What is the initiator? You tell us and I'll tell you if you are right.

Hope this helps you to find the answers you need.

Last edited:
The OP has not come back to this and it occurred to me that some might be interested in the answers to this science based topic ... If you are interested in how your products work.

Let me know if you are, or if you want to take a stab at answering the questions yourself, or if you have any questions of your own about the topic, and we can discuss. It's an interesting topic.