Congestion Charging in City Centres.. your thoughts

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gilly T

Reaction score
Ok so I've just had a row with hubby over the proposed congestion charging in Manchester City Centre and was wondering what other people think about it.

I've got mixed views as I know that something needs to be done to reduce the traffic in the city and also to improve public transport because it's basically pants at times (even though I'm a car driver).

The proposals for manchester are that a charge will be made to enter the city centre on a daily basis (I think) which will be split into peak and off peak times. Something like £5 per day for peak standard access although there are concessions.

The only problem I do have with it is that it isn't strictly the city centre, it's actually an 80 mile radius as they are using the M60 ringroad as the boundary. This is just before my daughters secondary school which is about five miles away from where we live so I have to drive her there and would have to cross the boundary to do so. This isn't really my gripe about it. There are a number of districts you have to drive through to actually get to the city centre which are inside the boundary.

Manchester has an inner ring road and an outer ring road and I feel that it would be more appropriate to charge to cross the inner ring road as that is where the real congestion is. This leaves me feeling a bit like it's just about the money and not about reducing congestion.

Hubby is an electrician and travels all over for his work including the city centre and surrounding districts and he says that ANY congestion charging could possibly cost him his job as this cost would have to be passed on to the consumer which will make them less competitive.

What does everyone else think or feel about congestion charging in City Centres?