Dark hair caramel highlights advice? Wella

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shakeitoff

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a bit of a newbie still early on in training so please don't be too harsh if I'm really off with the following post. Also I'll not be attempting this all on my own, I'll be shadowing someone else and assisting a little, so don't worry that I will be, I'm just sort of looking for some confirmation that I'm on the right track as to what I think we should be doing. Testing my knowledge so to speak. Anyway...

Have a client whose hair is in not the best condition, it had been dyed ages ago to around a 5 with highlights so it's verging on a 6 but I'd say it was around a five. It was dyed months back and she now has around 4 inches of roots, I'd say at a 3. Cause of the way it was highlighted before it looks a bit like a baylage currently (albeit a bit of a dodgy one.)

anyway, in her words she wants to go chocolate brown with caramel highlights. All over no baylage. She sent this refrence picture
http://i62.tinypic.com/2m2apg3.jpg

So I was thinking that we first with 6% developer and wella 6/73 do the predyed hair then the roots last and wash out so it's an even base. Though it has occured to me this might not make it even? Would it be better to do something else? Or another step first. I just don't want to over bleach.

Second dry partially so it's still damp and weave highlights through, using foils, with 1 part 6% and 1 part wella blondor and bring to a yellowish gold colour like a level 8.
Wash out

Then do a tone all over with 1 part wella kolestone 8/73 and 2 parts pastel.

Am I on the right track? :)

I think your on the right track (not wella trained) but you will need to dry the hair fully to foil in the second step..