Eye problems when using L&P??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LucyDodds

Reaction score
Hi,

I have been a nail tech for 8 years now, and in the last few months whilst working I have found my eyes stinging (to the point where I have to physically close my eyes to relieve the pain). It is occuring at least once, if not more, during each shift now, for example: today i've only worked for 4 hours after 3 days off and it's happened again. Even now, after an hour after finishing work they're still stinging.

I am short sighted and i have worn contact lenses for years whilst working, but for the last six months i have worn glasses for work. Could there be a link?

Please help!!

I guess it could be a number of things

My first thought is that your are working right above the nails? If you are leaning over the nails it could be the fumes going in your eyes, having the dappen dish too close you or wiping your brush on the paper towel?

Do you have any ventilation? x

I guess it could be a number of things

My first thought is that your are working right above the nails? If you are leaning over the nails it could be the fumes going in your eyes, having the dappen dish too close you or wiping your brush on the paper towel?

Do you have any ventilation? x

Hiya,

I do have ventilation - both an extractor fan for the room and a fuminator on my desk. I work with my dappen dish to the right of my workstation, and the only time i'm above any liquid is when i'm working on the fingernails themselves (which obviously i can't avoid!). I've never had these problems until recently - i'm bit worried this is the beginning of an allergic reaction:sad:

I have a friend who this happens too she had some sort of allergy to one particular make not to another xxx

I have a friend who this happens too she had some sort of allergy to one particular make not to another xxx