Freelance 40/60 - Is it a good offer?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

helsbels

Reaction score
Hi All

This is my very first posting/thread(?) but hopefully it will promote me from 'lurking geek' as Im affectionately referred to at the mo!

Although I am a qualified and experienced beauty therapist I work full-time in IT. I get paid well but the hours and travelling are starting to get to me and I want to have a more fullfilling work/life balance. I have been offered an opportunity to join a local salon on a 'freelance basis' where the split would be 40/60. I would take 40% on all treatments I do. The owner is quite busy and wants someone to come on board 2/3 days per week. This works fine as long as I have a fully booked day but when things are a bit quiet I could be sitting there and earning nowt! I worked at the salon over the Easter hols and I made £180 over the two days - obviously this is gross not net. It is also local to me, whereas currently I travel over an hour to work, adding 2 hours on my day.

I have to decide whether to take this offer or work as a mobile therapist building up my own client base. :confused:

I would love to hear your opinions!

40% is very, very low. As you say you would need to be be very busy for it to be worth your while. What incentive is there for you when the owner would be making more from it than you.

Who will be supplying the products?

Hi Theresa

Thanks for your reply - its so helpful to get advice from others.