Gel...to file, or not to file?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

remember_nomore

Reaction score
I have a question for the masses. My instructer here in Florida is a firm believer on <b>never</b> filing gel. It's breaking the first commandment and is against all of her laws.

:irked:

Now I've looked around online and find that the general way of thinking is totally different than hers. Nobody is going to think the same, this is why I bring the question to you fine lady's and gents.

Can you and do you file gel nails? I have a kit with gel and being a newbie I never really used it because when it comes to gel I need some filing at the end to 'finish'.

If you file, what are the do's and don't's? Because right now I'm so confused and I have about $400 worth of OPI gel products in the closet that are going to continue to collect dust out of sheer fear of touching it.

Well I must say I have never heard that before, I use Gel and acrylic, and file and buff them both.
I am sure some Opi user's will be along to tell you how they do their gel nails soon hun....x

If you want perfection then you will be filing some if not all of your gel nails.

Back in the old days, gel companies marketed thier product as being faster and better than L&P because you did not have to file it!! :eek: Many took this to heart and didn't! That is why there were so many hideous lumpy gel nails about.

There is no reason on earth why you should not file a gel nail to perfect it just as you would any other. It would be wonderful if we could guarantee a perfectly formed nail every time that needed no finishing but most of us who have an 'eye' for design and perfection need to tweak here and there with a file.