Help for my hands please!!!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

missbad

Reaction score
Hi

I am currently studying full time at college and work one day a week in a salon.

The thing is i have got dyshidrotic eczema which is blisters on my hands. It can be either under the skin or on the skin. I have only had this since i started hairdressing due to my hands being wet a lot from hair washing.

Does anyone know of anything i can put on my hands while washing. Latex clothes are no good as my hands sweat and its moisture of the hands that trigger it.

They are so painful to touch :cry: any help would be appreciated.

Thanks x

P.s This is the condition i have
One of the most common types of eczema is dyshidrotic eczema (or dyshidrotic dermatitis). It occurs only on the palms of the hands, on the sides of the fingers and on the soles of the feet.

The signs and symptoms of dyshidrotic eczema are the small deep blisters that form on the affected areas that cause intense burning or itching.

The skin gets inflamed and some times, infected skin can start to ooze, blister and crust. Some times as the skin heals, it starts to peel and new blisters appear.

Dyshidrotic dermatitis causes nail changes that persist for a long time. Because of this skin condition, fingernails develop ridges and pitting and they may start to thicken and discolour.

Factors that increase the risk of dyshidrotic eczema

Experts believe that certain factors can increase the risk of developing dishidrotic eczema. Stress is one of those factors. In fact, many patients report that they have been through a stressful period before most of their outbreaks.

Gender is also believed to be a factor since statistics have shown that females are more likely to develop dyshidrotic eczema than male. The other risk factor is weather and more precisely humid weather which causes a lot of flare ups.

Last edited: