help needed!!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

red35

Reaction score
I am a fairly new nail tech. Have found this site fantastic.......i do have a question for all of you.
I have always buffed the surface of the natural nail with a white block. I have just received my nails magazine this morning and it shows how to do a playboy nail enhancment, using acrlyic. But it says the you buff the natural nail with a 100 grit file to remove the shine.
Please can anyone help me with this question, as now i'm not sure which to do.
Thanks for any advice

Jayne

I would never buff the natural nail with using a 100 grit abrasive!! No wonder people's nails are damaged by nail technicians who do this!!

Some products do require that the technicians be very aggressive in their treatment of the nail plate because otherwise these products will not adhere to the plate. But this is at the expense of the integrity of the natural nail.

High end brands do not require the nailplate to be etched or 'roughed up' in any way. ONLY THE SHINE (the oily surface) needs to be removed and this is more of a 'clean up' or exfoliation of the plate NOT etching or thinning.

Your white block would be fine for the job grit-wise if it wasn't for the fact that the block absorbs the oil and is soon contaminated where as if you used a soft grit buffer (say 240 grit) like the Koala Buffer from Creative, you can sanitise and reuse it many many times. Buffers are kinder to the plate than boards and tend to get into those hard to reach places more easily too.

Thanks very much for the information. I thought 100 grit was too rough for the natural nail plate. but with it being in a nails magazine it made me wonder. Anyway will use a different buffer now, so thanks once again

Jayne