Help with Clear Tips

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jogels

Reaction score
I am wanting to use some clear tips with gels. I have never used clear tips before so I have a couple questions. I am wanting to do some glitters with a transparent effect.

1. Will I have to file the natural free edge very short, so there is no free edge showing?

2. What happens when the natural free edge starts to grow out? Will I have to put some glitter/ rhinestones over this area to disguise it?

3. I have read that sanitizer breaks down or splits/cracks clear tips, is this so?

Any other suggestions or pictures would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Hiya if you are using glitter on the free edge do it as tho you are doing a french .
Then when they need rebalancing you just take the glitter further down the smile line hth.
Yes if you use scrub fresh over the tips this can cause the tips to crack.

1. Will I have to file the natural free edge very short, so there is no free edge showing?
Yes, & its amazing how fast the free edge seems to grow when you dont want it to!

2. What happens when the natural free edge starts to grow out? Will I have to put some glitter/ rhinestones over this area to disguise it?
Thats what i end up doing

3. I have read that sanitizer breaks down or splits/cracks clear tips, is this so?
Scrubfresh and other products containing acetone all seem to crack all tips.
ps, imo if you're comfy with sculpting, I find that to be much simpler & faster than using the clear (or I suppose any other...) tips.

Hello!