Help with tips cracking off!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MsCallie

Reaction score
I have spent a lot of time reading previous threads about related problems. I am a newbie and need some help from experienced geeks.
I did french white tips with Calgel on a friend (thankfully!) the other day. I am just learning and did it for free. Unfortunately one tip broke off that same night and 2 other ones are now cracked where the white tip attaches to the nail. (ie. the gel is cracked and the tip is loose)
Here is what I did. From what I have read I think I needed to file the tips to fit the side walls better
-prepared and sanitized nail
-added tips - placing them according to well fitting her nail properly - her nails were quite short and they ended looking like the white tip covered too much of the nail plate - I have read now that I could have trimmed the well so they would look more natural
-buffed the shine off the tip, sanitzed
-applied 2 layers of calgel, making sure to unload on stress area, curing for 30 seconds after each
-applied Calgel UV gel and cured for one minute
-wiped away sticky residue and applied calcrystal
I am a little discouraged, because I don't know what I did wrong. My trainer suggested a 3rd coat of clear.
Any ideas??? Thanks a bunch!

Hiya ...sounds to me like not enough product was used over the stress area. Also white tips are not blended and blended tips are stronger.....what i would recommend to do for more strength and a nicer look (re: short nail beds) is to apply and blend clear tips and then use a pink coverage gel (sure calgel do one) then use the calgel white paint to do the free edge and place the smile line in a more attractive place...then clear gel over the whole thing...and carry on as normal.

Or... you could try sculpting.