How is your business

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lavander Rose

Reaction score
Hello there

I just wanted to ask anyone who rents how is your business going??

Are you busy everyday eg 4+ clients

Or have you been having quieter days or weeks.

I have been renting for 5 months now and all as been well, especially over the last two school holidays, but last week and two days of the week b4 have been quieter than usual,

now it that the usual thing that goes on or is it just my salon lol

Beauty is such a fickle business & there can be no rhyme or reason sometimes for quiet or busy patches, despite the general seasonal tendencies. I spent the last 6 years making a monthly note of how many of each treatment I did & found little in the way of a pattern. Maybe the cold wet weathers to blame, or they've all gone away to find some sun?!

Personally I'm very busy every day at the moment, working solidly from 9.30 till 5/6 o'clock with no breaks - not even for lunch, naughty I know, but I don't like turning people away! I always like to grab it whilst I can in preparation for those times when it seems everyone's forsaken you & gone elsewhere, because you can never tell when those quiet patches are on their way.

I was just talking about this to a couple of friends. they've both been in the biz since leaving school so 20 years(ish), one's a mobile hairdresser and the other mobile beauty therapist.

Both said its feast or famine with no apparent reason for it. When your busy you are rushed off your feet. when your quiet you think thats the end of the road.

I've had a very quiet month and think its to do with the papers and news constantly banging on about increasing cost of living.

I've just opened about three weeks ago and it's been go-go-go ever since.

I have 4 or 5 clients a day, and like Martin usually work straight through.