I'm not beauty qualified but want to set up..

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Saya

Reaction score
Hi all,
This may have been covered previously, would appreciate if anyone can advise..
I am hoping to set up a Beauty Therapy Salon in partnership with my friend.
She's not very business minded but is about to qualify with NVQ level 3, so I'm the business brains, whilst she is the beauty brains..
The plan was that she remains a silent partner until she has gained enough external experience to join us as staff, whilst I manage the place behind the scenes as manager and employ an assistant manager to run the day in day out stuff on the floor.
I have no qualifications in the beauty industry (I'm actually a Construction Project Manager by day!) but I wasn't sure if I am required to, as manager.
I will not be delivering any services myself (not yet anyway!).
Also, would anyone advise against me taking this venture on if I'm not intending to muck in myself? For me this was going to be my 'thing on the side' to stretch my business abilities.
We are currently securing the unit and have negotiated the fitout costs.
But I still have a lot of weighing up to do before proceeding any further, so it's not to late to back out...?

hiya Saya
we have had a very lengthy discussion about this before but I can't for the life of me think what the thread was called.

sounds like you both have it sussed between you, you will of course be drawing up a contract so that you both know what is expected of you both.

you may find that you want to get into the therapy side of it when you watch whats going on, but you said you will be employing a manager, so what is your role?

Hiya Hippy Chick,

Thanks for getting back : )
I'm responsible for the behind the scene side of things inc. the premises, fit-out, accounting, all the financial, statutory, H&S etc obligations