Important message for your health!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nail-chick

Reaction score
i can't stress the importance of stretching your hands, wrists and arm before, during and after your work day!

i've been doing nails for 18 years now and would sort of do stretching so i wouldn't get carpel tunnel syndrome, how silly i was being!!

in december, i was picking up a gallon of orange juice for my husband, who just had back surgery. when i lifted it up, i heard and felt a "pop" in the elbow of my right (dominant) arm!:eek:

sudden pain, almost immediate bruising and swelling. since i was taking care of him, i put off going to the doctor. finally, in january, i did go and found out i ripped the tendons! a BAD case of tendonitis with 2-3 mm tares. it made writing very difficult, so you can imaging how doing nails and nail art has been!

i'm going through physical therapy with ion therepy and more, we're trying not to go for the surgery.

...and, all of this came just as i was starting a 12-24 nail art design and photo shoot for nails international magazine! it slowed my down. thank God for acetominaphin!!

so, please, stretch and don't take your hands and arms for granted!!

kathleen
My Nails Rock!

Kathleen, I couldn't agree with you more.

It is something that perhaps some of us put to the back of our minds, because we are too busy thinking about, our techniques, clients, training, business, etc.
Me included might I add. Guilty as charged!

So thank you for giving us a quick reminder!!:hug:

I'm so sorry to hear you have been in pain, we take so much for granted so thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Get well soon.

Sending you big hugs :hug: :hug:, hope you can recover quickly & thanks for the advise, its definatelty something I will take on bored.

Hope you feel better soon and thankyou for these wise words.