in trouble over my hours.. (long one)

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AllThumbs

Reaction score
hi ladies... sorry i've been gone for so long, i've been so busy.
Feel free to move this if its in a bad spot, but I really need your opinions on my situation!

Ok...so i get to work today and i get a royal butt chewing from our acting manager while the owner is out on sick leave.
I started at this salon back in October, moonlighting while my other salon job weathered the winter so I could make extra income. Well business has been booming and things were doing fine until I returned to school on Jan 15th. I've been in college for 3 years. the first 2 i was in a medical program that has not really benifited me since i graduated but i wanted to finish the degree. Well i started in the fall on my small business management degree and plan to go on to my 4 year degree in this. I think this is a very important thing considering it will benifit me busness wise. I dont need a business degree to own and run a business but i feel like it prepares me to do it well.

so boss lady knows i'm in college and she hires me anyway. They begged me for almost 3 months to come to work for them. literally the manager texting me weekly, come work come work. so i gave in. So by xmas i was slammed making good checks and of course it slows down in january for everyone. Come mid january my classes started back. I took 3 online and the 4th one i had no choice but to do on campus because its only offered on campus and its 2 days a week.

So that put me getting to work at 12. alot of my clients work til 5 so I extended my hours and i've been busting hump working til 7 every night for this boss since october. so boss is out sick and i get a text from manager saying some things are bad and need to change.