Manicure & spray tan on same client in same appt.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AlisonS

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to spray tanning and need some advice.....

I have a friend booked in for a manicure and spray tan within the same appt. next week. Obviously I will do the manicure first as I don't want to ruin the tan on her hands. I'm just wondering whether the hand soak will have any effect on the tan (as I know showering just before is a no no). If I soak for as little time as possible just enough to soften the cuticles will this be ok or shall i avoid soaking altogether?
I am not going to massage at the end as I don't want to apply any massage cream to the arms, maybe just a light dry massage to hands and arms then spray tan after?

In an ideal world I would have done the manicure the day before but she is coming from London for a wedding so not really practicle!

Any comments or advice greatly appreciated! x

I would advise that she oils her cuticles from now till her appointment,plenty of handcream and pushing her own cuticles back when she massages the cream and oil in.
Then all i would do is a file and varnish and then put oil over the nails and cuticles when you do the tan.I wouldnt risk doing anything else for a wedding as hands can be quite difficult anyway.

hey huni

Your right ideally the day before atleast is best. But in this case i would do the same sweetie. Just soak the nails and try not to get to much of the hand soaking n i wouldnt suggest adding any oils into the soak. And yes leave the massage creams and lotions from the manicure but explain to your friend/client why you are doing this if it means a perfect tan most clients do not even bat an eye lid!! Ive done a few clients this way now who insist they must do there treatments in one day for whatever reason. And adding a light amount of oil over the dry polished nails is a great idea!!