Monomer vapours...???

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cerries

Reaction score
Hi guys!

Hope you're all ok on this lovely Friday afternoon!

As some of you may know I am a newbie to the industry, and am lucky enough to be offered a room to rent in a new place that has opened up in town. I use CND Retention+ L&P.

The room I am renting is on the first floor of a building - the ground floor is a coffee shop. So, of course, I have thought long and hard about keeping vapours and fumes down to a minimum, so as not to disturb the delicate palates of the coffee drinkers downstairs! On my CND training Julia gave me some fab ideas about what I can do to keep the fumes down - open window, any tissue with product on straight in metal bin, only use monomer when I need to and keep a lid on it whilst applying the product.

Do you think (in your experience) that using these techniques will be sufficient to keep the vapours to an absolute minimum? I am looking into buying an extractor unit from NSI, but I don't want to spend money unnecessarily when an open window and good housekeeping will do the trick!

If you think I need some sort of extraction unit does anyone have any recommendations? Does vapour/fumes pose a big problem for anyone else who is renting a room that isn't in a salon?

Thanks all!

Cerries x :hug:

You know, it is so easy to minimise the odour to practically nothing that I can never understand what all the fuss is about! If you are getting allot of odour or complaints about odour ..... do the following.

1. Quit wiping the monomer out of your brush on the paper! Wipe your brush on a pad that has been dampened with Scrub Fresh instead and there will be virtually no odour. Wiping your brush on dry paper is the biggest factor that causes odour in the salon.

2. Always cover your dappen dish immediately after use.