Nail infection or just grotty nails??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Francesca0278

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a newbie and have a horrible feeling that I may of had my first fungal nail infection today but I'm totally not sure?? I'm hoping somebody could advise me whether or not it was, as the lady has booked in for another manicure in a fortnight's time!!

I did Manicure Course at college which covered this kind of thing but it's hard to identify for sure when someone comes into the salon and this is the first one I've had since I started back in September last year.

When I first examined the hands and nails, I could see that some of her nails were split and her cuticles were very dry and overgrown but at this point I couldn't see anything that made me think it may be an infection but it was in the back of my mind so I gave her nails a good clean over with anti-fungal. She wanted Bio Sculpture gel but as her nails were so badly split I advised her to have a couple of manicures first to get her nails in better condition as the splits would cause the gel to lift.

BUT....as I continued with the manicure I started to noticed that her thumb nail was quite yellow and a couple of her cuticles had a slight yellow tinge (although I'm 99.9% sure she was a smoker). The nails that were split were mostly split in more than one place (which is referred to as like the top of a castle - in nail books) and the ends of her fingers were red and slightly hot which is was made me think it may be something more sinister, plus one of her thumbs had a patch of dry scaly skin - although she did say when she came in that she picks the skin.

Can anbody shed any light on what this may be?

After she left I threw everything out that I could, soaked all my tools in barbicide then sprayed with anti-fungal and cleaned and sanitised my table and everything else she touched!!!