New Career

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marykate4400

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to Salon Geek as you can tell - but just wanted to say HELLO.:lick:

I am applying to do the level 2 NVQ Nail Technician course and hope to start this September - any opinions on the NVQ route to getting qualified? I don't have any money to pay for those expensive online/home tutored course :sad:

I am a nurse and have become disillusioned with working in healthcare so please wish me luck with my new career path... I hope to go on and work as a nail technician soon....been doing nails for friends and family for ages....so I am very interested in how this course turns out.

Hi

Like you I used to be a registered nurse. I had to leave due to a spinal injury but have always loved beauty so hence my career move.

I did my NVQ course at college many moons ago so did a refresher course before going into my beauty career.

The training never stops though, very much like nursing things are always changing and new products are available.

Good luck with your career change x We love helping newbies so if there is anything you need just ask x

Hi, welcome to salongeek I am sure you will find it very useful and full of very experienced geeks who are willing to help!

Nvq is a good route to start your career in Nails. You can always add extra courses once you have learnt the basics.

The only thing I can say is don't get disheartened with timings or progression once you start your training, everyone learns at different rates, it's better to be a slow starter and work at your own pace, building the best skills you can.

Good Luck and Enjoy!

Emily :)

Welcome MaryKate, and I wish you lots of luck too.

I also have just trained to do nails after 26 years as a Biomedical Scientist .