New financial year approaching - Time to kick ourselves up the bum a bit

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skymark

Lisamarie
Reaction score
I'm sure that I am not the only one. This financial year I have made oopsies and doing my books only goes to put in sparkly lights, all the things I have not been good at, too lazy to do or find out about.

This is a bit of a fiscal cleaning time for me and I therefore am going to pledge to do certain things differently next year as I can see from this years books that it WILL make a difference.

My new fiscal year resolutions:

- I will finally start keeping a real track of my total car mileage so that I can include a % of my car upkeep and maintenance next year. I have never done this before, only for petrol, but really it is lazy as it could save me quite a bit in the future.

- I will get this years tax return done in the month of April, giving me a fresh start and not have to spend night after night searching receipts next January.

- I will keep track of ALL business mileage, no more ''gifts'' to the taxman in the form of business journeys I don't bother to write down.

- I will buy AA cover with my next insurance policy to make business driving a little less perilous :green:

- Equipment will be replaced. Yes a lot of things are still in decent condition but when you work with things everyday you dont notice things not looking sparkly anymore but clients probably do, especially the materialistic clients.

- I will do at least 2 courses this financial year leaning into holistics as this is a nice bridge between my two businesses.

- I will stop buying things like kitchen roll and zip loc bags with the grocery shop and forgetting to include them as business expense. I pick up a lot of things at Tesco that never get included because I forget.