New job and wages

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PrincessClaire

Reaction score
hi i have had a new job for a few weeks now in a salon. I am a junior stylist building up my clients and my manager said he was going to start me off on 23 hours a week on £5.75 an hour. once i started i was rotered in for 40 hours a week which was a bonus so i did not complain. now i have come to fill out my payroll form he has now said miniumum wage for a 20 year old is only £4.77 a hour and that it is going to have to change from what we agreed. i am grateful for the job and everything but the job i left for this one was paying me more even when i hadnt fully qualified. what do you make of this should i just get on with it and not say anything? thanks :hug:

hi i have had a new job for a few weeks now in a salon. I am a junior stylist building up my clients and my manager said he was going to start me off on 23 hours a week on £5.75 an hour. once i started i was rotered in for 40 hours a week which was a bonus so i did not complain. now i have come to fill out my payroll form he has now said miniumum wage for a 20 year old is only £4.77 a hour and that it is going to have to change from what we agreed. i am grateful for the job and everything but the job i left for this one was paying me more even when i hadnt fully qualified. what do you make of this should i just get on with it and not say anything? thanks :hug:

Hi, heres a link that may be helpful :hug: x minky

Negotiating Pay - HJi Jobs

Hi PrincessClaire are you now qualified ?
do you have a signed contract ?
as I don't think its right for your wages to get lower especially after agreeing a set rate with you at your interview :eek: ,
did he say why he is doing this turn around ?

Hairdressers usually have an industry associated wage eg, junior , level 2 stylist L 3 senior stylist ect...