% on room rental, would HMRC agree

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mac72

Reaction score
Hi,
Would it be legal to rent my room on these basis?
I pay all costs- electricity, water, products, equipment advertising, card machine etc.
In return beauty therapists pays me a % 40/60 in my favour, any takings over £1000 they get 60%. They choose their hours, deal with all bookings, pay their own tax etc. I set price list, set rules regarding behaviour and dress code. Thanks for your help:)

The self employed person is legally entitled to choose hours, price lists and dress code.

You will be their landlord as such so have no say on prices etc. You can try and come to an agreement over prices and dress code but the self employed person doesn't have to agree with you.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using SalonGeek mobile app

I have been renting a beauty room for over 2 years from a hair salon.
I pay a monthly rent which includes all amenities; also tea, coffee etc.
The room is my responsibility with regard to cleanliness etc. I have an accountant who does my tax returns on an annual basis.
I have my own clientele, and some from the hair salon.

There is absolutely no say about my dress code (well not face to face), price lists etc. My business is within the hair salon, but completely separate, which is what I prefer.

In answer to your question, as a Beauty Therapist, I would personally feel as if I am your employee if you wanted to have a say in my dress code and also you wanting to be included in other unrelated matters other than the rent and showing respect to your hair salon and clients.

The pricelists, payments (ie take their own) uniform, choice if products are all perks of being SE.