One step forward, 10 steps back

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RedAdmiral

Reaction score
Based on a few threads I've read recently I have a question about Nail technician's pricing. Now I know it varies from place to place and also experience but for me I feel that prices are back to where they were 10 yrs ago!
I've been doing nails since 1999 and qualified in 2002 in enhancements, like many of you I was unsure what to charge and did some for free, some for a fiver and then started about £15. I quickly moved up to €35 (moved to Ireland) and then €45 in my first 'real' job renting in a tanning shop 5 yrs ago. I have trained and trained and trained - not a year goes by where I dont attend a class and proudly hanging on my wall are 15 of my best certificates. My pricing is that of a Master and that of an Educator €70 full set. (last yr average price was 60) My salon looks great and is everything I could ever wish for in a modern nailbar.................. so I go for a little walk around town and see the new breed of NSS (which over here come form our neighbours in the East and not the far east!) and low and behold the average price of nails is €45. I have thought about a reduction as yes times have changed but for me to go back to such pricing is ridiculous and I feel I would have to cut corners to get there.

On previous post I have heard: 'I paid that price when I got married', Gigi said she started at £35, The girl who had the client tell her she was off to NSS as they were cheaper, implying she wasnt competitive!

I know I'm going on a bit but really what is going on? how can you stay competitive? are there really enough clients out there that will pay for a top end product? I believe yes............. at the same time I dont wanna be known as 'the expensive place'................... I'd love to hear your thoughts