Potential Nail Problem?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karen-Nail Tech

Reaction score
This is my first topic... Eek!

I'm new to the industry so forgive me if this is obvious but I'm wondering if anyone can tell me what could be causing the nails to look like this...

I'm trying to get into the swing of contra indications for when i'm doing this full time so any help would be really appreciated.

Also I was just wondering what the more common issues you find and how often you actually come across them?

Thanks in advance!

x

Attachments

• ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1307114529.282142.jpg
    ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1307114529.282142.jpg
    47.3 KB · Views: 273
  • ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1307114542.891496.jpg
    ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1307114542.891496.jpg
    51.9 KB · Views: 270
You mean with the nail pulling away from the nailbed? My mother's are like this, not completely separated. We think that it's psoriasis, as there's a family history of this. It's been investigated and found that it isn't a fungal infection. It kind of happens to each nail in turn, though having said that, they're all OK at the moment. Mum keeps them shorter as they're less likely to catch and pull away.

Of course, it doesn't mean that this is what it is with your client, would suggest medical opinion should be sought. It's not appropriate for you to diagnose.

Thanks for replying to my little topic :)

It's actually a friend. I haven't provided any service for her but she asked me and I thought I'd ask all of you clever people just incase it is something I see again.

I'm certainly not trying to diagnose by any means - just curious.

x

This is a Nail Disorder called Onycholysis.

It happens when the nail plate lifts from the nail bed and there could be a number of reasons for this... trauma for one and it can also happen in clients that have psoriasis or dermatitis.