Reverse French Manicure - advice please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

River

Reaction score
Hi,

I saw the most fabulous client on Tuesday and had the best time ever. She was such an inspiration and I was on cloud 9 for the rest of the evening, but that's another story.

To get to the problem at hand .... she requested (what I call) a reverse French Manicure. This is where you paint the pink on first and then paint the white tip over the pink.

Now as some of you know, I have only just mastered a normal French manicure (white first, then pink) thanks to the miracle that is Nail Fresh.

Having to perform a reverse French manicure knocked me a bit as I have never done a French manicure like this before, and I knew I wouldn't be able to use my Nail Fresh.

Needless to say, my hand started shaking like an alcoholics again because I was so nervous and did the best I could. She also wanted me to use her OPI varnishes which I wasn't used to. I found the OPI varnishes quite "thick" compared to Creative enamels and more difficult to work with.

So here is my question to you super duper Geeks who think nothing of a French manicure. Besides an ultra steady hand, how do you cope with a reverse French Manicure ? How do you manage to get a perfectly crisp smile line without using Nail Fresh or if you do, how do you go about it ??

Any help would be much appreciated as I know I'll be seeing this client again and next time, I want to be ready !

Thanks

River

River said:
Hi,

I saw the most fabulous client on Tuesday and had the best time ever. She was such an inspiration and I was on cloud 9 for the rest of the evening, but that's another story.

To get to the problem at hand .... she requested (what I call) a reverse French Manicure. This is where you paint the pink on first and then paint the white tip over the pink.