So impressed by all you hair stylists....

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fabtans

Reaction score
HI,
Im not a hair dresser, no knowledge of this profession at all. I spray tan for a living...I helped an old friend out today in her salon as a favour, basically doing all the run around jobs, shampooing, taking curlers out, answering phone, sweeping up, cups of tea..etc...She was desperate for an extra pair of hands on her busiest day of the week, as her college students keep letting her down.(Thats another topic/thread Im sure).. Anyway,this being my first visit working in a salon staying 9am -3pm and could not believe what you guys go thr probably every working day. You all work so so hard, hardly time to grab a drink or pop to the loo let alone eat lunch! It was a real eye opener to how talented you are, not only dealing with all the customers creating their perfect hair styles but all the conversation and smiles that have to be given as if each customer is your first of the day! Just wanted to say how impressed i was, i was made so welcome by staff and customers and loved every minute of my day, an achy back and sore feet but i shall never moan again about a hard day tanning at home! You certainly dont earn the wages you deserve..you must have a real passion for what you do.

Thankyou. Nice to be appreciated!!!!!!

You do get used to it, I run a really fast column. Most hairdressers would wet their knickers at the amount of work I can fit into a day, but I'm used to it, and don't think twice about it.

awww thats the nicest post ive seen in a while :) like persi says nice to be appreciated. there is alot of unseen skill that goes into our work that a lot of clients and other proffessions dont understand and often think "they are only hairdressers" but we know different :) x

Thank you that's lovely of you to say such appreciative words.