So, what have you learned this Christmas period?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kizzycat

Reaction score
This is my first year in a hair salon, which is much different to being in my home salon where all my home salon clients are friends of friends or relatives of friends etc and I have been quite spoiled in that I dont get any no shows and on the whole I usually get notice if clients cancel. So, since being in the hair salon that I rent a room for the past 7 or 8 weeks, this is my first christmas. I have been llucky in the fact that I am building a clientelle and the week before christmas was absolutely manic and I feel burned out lol, but I had quite a few no shows!. One client who had booked out 2 and a half hours cancelled half an hour before her appointment because she was christmas shopping! another cancelled because she was full of cold.

I have already decided that during the week up to next years Christmas I am going to take a 50% non refundable deposit (however, I think for genuine reasons like being ill etc, I will offer the deposit off a future treatment). Anyway I just wondered, what have you learned from this Christmas? Do you think that asking for 50% deposits will stop people from booking?